Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

*Video Added* Using a PI machine for the first time.

Posted by SilverPeter 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
*Video Added* Using a PI machine for the first time.
December 23, 2010 06:04AM
Rather than start a new post, I wanted to share a 12 minute video. Please understand I am NEW to the PI type hunting and I am using a 10+ year old machine. (Simply as a starter unit) I have MUCH to learn in this arena. But had a bunch of fun.

[www.youtube.com]

I have not posted for a bit but finally a breather to try out my (used) Pulse Induction machine.

I love it! Yes-I am finding plenty of nails and other sorted med/high density items. However-Using my new system (thanks to a certain DVD on beach hunting)
I am going in more educated and having a blast. (*This is just a small step in pulse units as I am very serious about obtaining a good unit (Foster ASII or similar)
sometime next year when I get the fundamentals of this type of detecting down*)

First thing I noticed was how you can almost "shape" the item below. If I could get a repeat signal, but it would not repeat in the same spot or swing each time,
I could almost figure a non-ferrous item like a nail or can slaw. (I may be wrong on that particular point-But I am having fun thinking I can!) A coin seems to give a better/cleaner
repeatability.

I have just started hitting a baseball diamond that is slated for demo later this winter. What is interesting, at about the 4 inch level, is a 2.5" layer of black iron
sand/clay combo that renders all other machines useless... Ahhh... But the PI loves it and in about 45 minutes of detecting, picked up several Wheats with a range of 30's to 50's.

If anybody is interested, I will post more info when I get back to this site including photo's and details.

Happy Christmas to all!

Edited 4 time(s). Last edit at 12/27/2010 05:09AM by SilverPeter.