Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

New Here.

Posted by Tom_in_CA 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
New Here.
October 20, 2016 02:00PM
Hey everyone, I'm new to this discussion board forum. Brian "Cal Cobra" told me about it. I'm the one he alludes to in his "western frontier site" post. Looking at the topics and sample reading a few, it's easy to tell there's a lot of knowledgeable and passionate hunters here !

I'm especially grateful to the knowledge and time-to-type-out that Keith Southern inputted to Brian's thread. Thank you so much for your input there Keith ! Out here in CA we don't get a lot of sites which had much military influence during the 1860s. Since, of course, the western states were not participating in the CW. So we don't "bone up" as much on CW targets (buttons, bullets, tack, etc...) as you CW states guys do. Hence I very much appreciate your taking the time to post on Brian's ID's. As he said, it dates from around 1859 to the late '60s, And as you can see from his photos (I guess this is obvious), that the place was frequented by the military . But in those years, out west, soldiers of that era were doing the indian things, protecting the settlers, protecting the building of RRs and telegraph lines, keeping the peace, etc.... However, their buttons, bullets, etc... would be akin to what you deep south guys are so studied-up on.

So thank you again Keith and everyone for inputting into Brian's post ! My finds were similar to Brian's. Except I bagged the lone coin of the effort: An 1854 half dime.