Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

explorer se vs cz-3d on old coins

Posted by Indiana Heath 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
explorer se vs cz-3d on old coins
April 10, 2007 03:45PM
Wondered how explorer compares to 3d on looking for old coins at old sites. I have been detecting for 2 years and have only found 3 silver coins, 1903Barber quarter and 2 mercury dimes. All were from different locations and all only 2 inches deep. Have found several clad each year at 2-3inches average. am using the explorer now, but was very interested in the fisher after watching your DVD.
I think they both see the old coins
April 10, 2007 06:17PM
I had a CZ3d (now have F75) and they both would see the coins. The 3D just alerts you that it is a coin where on the explorer you probably would have passed it up on and old coin target, for instance like an IH penny thinking it was a pull tab.

When coin hunting at an old site I now always dig a positive repeatable (at different angles) signals. If a target is 6" or more and seems like it can be anything but iron, I dig it. I use other techniques to determine if it is a coin or not, like raising the coil and checking the all metal width of the target, but I pretty much dig it anyway if it has depth and sounds close to a good target.

These deep "different" sounding targets is where I usually find a coin spill or a coin next to iron or near a junk target. When it is deep it always gets my attention. Digging up the junk targets gradually "unmasks" the deep silver you are trying for, especially at a trash infested site. I usually start at a small patch of promising ground and dig everything and then go back over it a time or two to remove the masking and then to see if it provides likely targets.