Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Looking for a tune-up for my recently purchased CZ5...

Posted by Blissterd1 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Looking for a tune-up for my recently purchased CZ5...
January 03, 2013 05:43AM
I recently lucked into a sweet Fisher CZ5 wih a stock 8" coil and a FZ-1 Sunray probe. I have been detecting for a few years and have a DFX, XLT, Classic, Classic III by Whites and a Garrett ADS Deepseeker plus a Bounty Hunter or two, all of them bought used, that have helped make me quite fond of what I call "dirt fishing"!
I did OK with these machines finding silver and many coins and cool relics, but when I bought the CZ last month, the light went on! After a little time in my test bed and a neighbors yard, I visited my most productive hunting site, a hill behind a local mansion used for sledding over many years. I've found numerous silver rings and coins that likely flew out of pockets and off of fingers in the snow! What a great site! After 15 minutes I hit a foil ID'd target that turned out to be a 8.4g, 14K mens wedding band (no inscription, sorry to say for the former owner) and is officially the first gold I've ever found while detecting! This was just over a week ago on Dec. 21st, the day we avoided the end of the world and was the first day of my vacation! How's that for good luck!
I have seen on this forum, mentions of someone doing tune-ups on the CZ machines. I really think this machine could use some help, at least a check-up to see that it's in proper alignment. I've only owned it about a month and since temps dropped from the upper 50's to the 20's two days after my first gold ring find, this would be the perfect time to service my new baby. Then, once its tuned and I find that next ring with diamonds on it, I'll buy an XP Deus and get serious about this hobby!

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/03/2013 06:33AM by Blissterd1.