Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

My Etrac's first ring is a good one

Posted by Mike Hillis 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
My Etrac's first ring is a good one
April 05, 2018 05:53PM
I'm still learning my Etrac. I have had it out a couple of times high conductive coin hunting but hadn't jewelry hunted with it yet. Last Friday I took it to one of my gold jewelry patches to see how it would do. I left the pattern as the stock pattern, Fast Recovery On, Trash Density High, Difficult ground selected, and 4 tone conductive tone. Auto Sensitivity +1. Noise cancel resulted in channel 10 with an Auto sensitivity level of 12. Tried manual sensitivity to 15 but was too noisy so I put it back on Auto and left it alone.

This particular patch is turf and has given me 4 other rings; 1 silver, 1 junk and 2 gold and some nick nacks. The hot spot isn't very large, maybe 40 by 60 yards. I've removed a bit of non-ferrous trash to make it easier and faster to cover. The grass was well cut and watered earlier in the day and the Etrac swung real nice with the coil gliding easily on the grass. I focused on the two lower tones and started comparing display results with the targets; a little canslaw, a couple of new stay tabs, some little alum bandage clips, Beer crown caps and some of those little alum caps that come on those liqueur shot bottles the convenience stores sell here.