Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

For newbies and somewhat experienced users using the Equinox detectors.

Posted by maxxkatt 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
For newbies and somewhat experienced users using the Equinox detectors.
September 04, 2018 08:42PM
I came from three years of hunting with the AT Pro and many hours on other mid-ranged price detectors. I now have about 30 hours on the Equinox 800 and on any given day after a hunt I am about ready to sell the 800 and buy another AT Pro. But I find myself out there 2-3 days later hunting with the 800.

I highly recommend Clive James Clynick's book "The Minelab Equinox series - From Beginner to Advanced." I paid cash for this book and am not associated with Mr. Clynick in any way. I think a total newbie to this hobby might be a little bewildered in trying to understand this fine book, but it is the best out there on the Equinox detectors. Experienced AT Pro hunter will get a lot from it. Minelab users will probably not need it, but they will likely find it useful since the Equinox is a different beast than other Minelab detectors.

I read the book, bought the 800 and off I went hunting. I experienced what many of you guys were saying. It is so chatty, I cannot make heads or tails of the sounds or TID's. Some people on the forums in the Equinox sections complained a lot about this problem. The reason I could not make heads or tails of all the beeps and boops is that I had not learned how to use the Equinox 800 properly. Not even close.