Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Impressed with the Teknetics Minuteman / Eurotek Pro

Posted by marcomo 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Impressed with the Teknetics Minuteman / Eurotek Pro
April 23, 2019 05:37AM
I know most on this forum aren't usually talking about or using entry level detectors but I recently bought a Tek Minuteman (a re-branded, lower priced Eurotek Pro) and it's a better than I expected little detector. And a lot of fun to use.

It won't push either of the higher end detectors I'm currently using into the closet. But I bought it for a family/friends/permission grantor loaner and to keep in the vehicle for just in case use and it's just the ticket for that. I can use this detector without feeling like I'm seriously handicapped compared to my other detectors. I can let someone I'm with use this and even a complete newbie should be able to use it effectively.

First of all, it's super fast and pulls the high tones out amongst the ferrous very well, I dug several coins co-located with nails. The round 8" coil it comes with separates targets with the efficiency of a smaller coil.

It's simple to use and intuitive. Sensitivity, Discrimination Level and Volume are the only controls to set from the menu button. But with the volume you can adjust the iron volume separately from the mid range VCO and the high tones. That's a really nice feature. I can hear all the iron the way I prefer but do it at a lower volume to avoid iron fatigue. I believe when the Eurotek Pro came out it was the first detector to have adjustable iron volume. A power button, pinpoint button and and up and down buttons are the only other controls.