Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Minelab Vanquish 540 Review

Posted by Des D 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Minelab Vanquish 540 Review
April 06, 2020 03:11PM
Minelab Vanquish 540 Preliminary Review (short-term use) by Desi Dunne

"My thanks to NASA Tom for allowing me space here to put up my thoughts on various detecting equipment.
I've been writing for 'Treasure Hunting' publications for many years and I believe my first article was published as far back as 1982 or 1983, about a "Fisher 1220-X" model and the General Manager of "Fisher Labs" reached out to me and we became pretty good friends. His name was Jim Llewellyn and he was a thorough gentleman.
I've written hundreds of articles since and along the way I met many more people who became my friends and am in touch with some of you today!
So metal detecting has really been part of my life. And that's why I write these review articles. It's in my blood at this stage!
I hope you enjoy them as they are intended, decent honest reviews."

Packaging, Build, Power & Instruction Manual

The detector is packed in a small carton at 26” x 11” x 5.5” inches.
Everything was in its own compartment and firmly embedded and I’d be surprised it anything moved about during shipping. The same ‘piano black’ headphones as per Equinox were there and as I said before, more suited plugged into your electric piano than an outdoor device.
It contained a USB style battery charger and four 2450mah ‘Minelab’ brand batteries were provided.
The lower rod was enclosed in its own protective cover. It was easy to assemble and once done felt more ‘Top of the Line’ than an entry level detector albeit with advanced “Multi IQ” Technology.
A neat feature is the removable and reversible arm rest cup shaft component.
It makes for easy packing and stowage and it fit quite snugly into another detector brand’s ‘numeric’ backpack I was testing at the same time.