Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Equinox

Posted by kevinnc 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Equinox
February 13, 2021 05:52AM
I just got an Equinox 600 about 2 weeks ago. I am a little disappointed by all the hype that I have seen. It's a good machine and fun to use, but I have found nothing to say it's a big step forward in detecting. I live in a house built in 1900 that was built on a lot that a house burned down on before that. I have found nothing in this yard that is loaded with iron missed by my other machines. I have a farm to hunt that had 3 houses from the 1700s on it that we found many buttons and a few coins on with our other machines. I rehunted them with the 600 and it was the same as going back with my old machines. Nothing. This farm is sandy land with no bottom. I know there has to be items too deep to find. I have been detecting for almost 30 years and have over 10 machines right now. I know all the settings on the 600. I haven't even seen an advantage in heavy iron because my F75LTD and Multi Kruzer is just as fast set right. The one thing I will give it, is the ID on trash that's not iron. Iron is a problem with it. It puts most aluminum under the coin range. I like that. As far as deep and unmasking, I don't see it.
Re: Equinox
February 13, 2021 05:57AM
I still have my old Fisher CZ5, Coinstrike, and Minelab Explorer and Soverign.
February 13, 2021 12:42PM
I recommend Eqx 800 over 600 model.
Why?
More speed settings on 800 model.
This is advantageous imo over 600.

800 models has prospecting mode.

Lower conductors like gold rings, etc
Eqx 800 is deeeeep!!

My own experiences.
Hardest sites to be productive using EQX 800 - sites that have seen Deus action in particular Hf Coil action.

Higher conductor success using Eqx 800 hunting behind Minelab CTX or Etrac. Can be tougher for success.

Nickels in sites. EQX ranks supreme, I sure haven’t run anything close.