Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

First hunt with the 15" Coiltek coil

Posted by Dan(NM) 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
First hunt with the 15" Coiltek coil
March 14, 2021 09:53PM
I took the Coilek out for the first time this morning to the spot at the lake I've been hunting for the last 14 months. I will say, I was a little concerned because of the first couple of reviews about the coil. I had to remind myself that soil conditions, settings, modes and time on the machine decide how well a coil will perform, not test gardens, no offense to anyone.

I set the Nox up as follows.....

Park 1

Recovery speed - 3

Iron Bias F2-0

GB-0, I did a manual GB and it GB'd at 4, so I decided to run it at 0

Sen. 23, EMI isn't factor out here until I get closer to the main entrance.

2-Tones

Tone break set at -2 , no disc

Iron tone set at 3, volume at 3 as well.

I have bursitis, so I hooked up my bungy, I use Doc's Swingy Thingy and started swinging away. I started hitting the usual stuff, pull tabs, bottle caps, etc. I focused on the low conductive numbers just to see if the 15" coil would hit the small stuff like the 11" coil. After the first 2 hours I was pretty satisfied with the coils ability to hit some pretty small stuff, on par with 11"

The soil here is very mild, I'm not so sure it would perform as well with the small stuff if the soil was pretty hot, but here, it nailed some smaller targets with no problem. All the items in the picture came in at 10 or below. The target that sealed the deal for me was the brass bead, the one on the stud of the earring, about the size of a BB. It was hitting small pieces of foil in the 1-2 VDI range with no problem.

Both of the earrings hit at 10, about 3" deep. It will hit coins on edge with no problem, I dug 2 zinc's standing straight up and down.