Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Can high conductors, copper and silver be seen as a low to mid conductors when very deep? range conductors uctor of it self?

Posted by glasartisan 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Interesting thread. I've been using the 600 for the last 3 years or so, not the 800, so I don't have quite the same flexibility.

I've found that when emi severely restricts my ability to use a higher sensitivity, I can often detect at 25 or close to it if I go to single frequency in 10 khz or 15 khz. As Tom said, single frequency has a notable negative effect on accurate ID though. I do find myself digging more bad targets when I detect in a single frequency. Going to the 6-in coil will also seriously mitigate emi.

I generally carry an extra 6-in coil with the middle rod attached for easy switch over, but I don't usually bring a different detector. I've been wowed by the Equinox ability to consistently find deep good targets with the 11 inch when emi is not too bad.

Another thing, I switched from using 5 tone to 50 tone shortly after I got The Nox. In a little while I was happy to discover how well my ears trained to hear the different 50 tones. In the beginning, I never imagined I would be able to say hey that's a primarily 12-13 signal just by the tone.

I've found that when I get a very bouncy five bar deep signal, if I only get a few high numbers as I rotate and the high numbers are in the minority, it's definitely worth a go!
Johnny........same here.

Whom/what ever corporate entity that harnesses EMI.....will be the market WINNER.
Yes...Co-located iron will down average high conductors......but iron minerals will up-average high conductors.