Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

F75 SE - EMI fun

Posted by ashhhhh 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
F75 SE - EMI fun
February 09, 2012 11:51PM
Hello all,

I have spent the last couple of days reading as much of this forum as possible, really great info!
I am writing from sunny Australia.

I have been using the F75 SE for 6 months or more now, having a little Bounty Hunter previously.

It has generally been good but I have found it very confusing at times.
I have struggled with interference on many occasions.

Yesterday I found that with the 11" coil attached I had to reduce sensitivity to 40 before the VDI stopped jumping randomly and the tones going crazy.
I tried the frequency shift to no effect at all.
I switched between DE and BP for little effect.
Setting Disc to 5 helped, any lower and EMI was severe.

Fitting the 5" coil helped a bit, I was able to increase the Sens to around 55.

Is it normal to have to go so low with the sensitivity?

Powerlines were distant, I had no phone and my partners detector had no effect. (interference present whether it was off or on)

Thanks,
Ash
Re: F75 SE - EMI fun
February 09, 2012 11:57PM
Sorry just some additional info which may be relevant.
I have read previously that the control unit itself is not very susceptible to EMI, would this mean that it should be silent with the coil disconnected?

I switched the unit on this morning, without the coil plugged in, and it went nuts - much like I experienced in the field yesterday.
To be fair I was inside my house, but I have switched the on inside before WITH coil connected and not had this issue.

I guess im wondering if the unit could be faulty...
February 10, 2012 12:54AM
I grabbed mine real quick and disconnected the coil and turned it on. It looked like a slot machine. I'm not having any unusual EMI problems while hunting with it.
February 10, 2012 12:57AM
beastdig Wrote: