Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Deep Old Coins

This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Deep Old Coins
December 30, 2009 12:53PM
I have been using the F70 for 9 months and I have made some good finds. What I have yet to do is pull out some deep silver. I have consistently found dimes in the 6"-7" range. Most ID'ed very good with a few of the 7" ones giving good tone but degraded ID(VDI in the 20's). Lately I find myself digging many crappy signals trying to find the deeper coins. All I get is rusty bent nails and small bits of foil buried a few inches deep but read as 6" deep in the pinpoint. Since I haven't yet found anything deeper I don't have a clue as to would I should expect the target to look or sound like. Obviously I see the need for a coin garden but lacking one I was hoping someone might chime in as to what I should be listening for or watching for on the detector. One other note is I have heard many people in my area(all Minelab users by the way) who I run into claim to be finding 11" coins. Of course, that's always when I am not around. When I am with them they get the same 6"-7" coins I do.
Re: Deep Old Coins
December 30, 2009 01:43PM
Deep coins depend a lot on what part of the country you're in.
Sink rate of soil etc.
Tom's DVD goes into a lot of these details.
In my area I don't think the sink rate is very fast.
I've found barber dimes in close to au condition (which gives a good indication as to when it was dropped) at less than 6" deep. This is also covered on Tom's DVD.
December 30, 2009 04:23PM
Try a simple test and bury a dime at 8"-9".......and see how the ground & detector responds FIRST........before creating a test-garden. Just make sure that NO tiny metal objects are in the ground before you bury a dime. This will dictate how you should build a future test-garden.
December 30, 2009 04:42PM