Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

My just learned lessons on hunting in hot southern mineralized soil...

Posted by diggwr27 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
My just learned lessons on hunting in hot southern mineralized soil...
August 29, 2015 07:48PM
This is about something I just learned so I will post this long thing in case some other Fisher owner, specifically the newer ones, might read it and maybe take something from it that they can use to find that next great thing.
Not saying I am an expert, I just observe things and report back if they are helpful to me.
For me, in this soil with my equipment this is a lesson I will use well in the future.

Some soil background and info...
Kansas soil I usually ground balanced at numbers from mid 40's to mid 50's...1 bar on the dirt meter...if that.
Alabama soil is usually mid 60's to the mid 70's with 2 or 3 bars on the dirt meter every time.
I have only been to a few sites...it could get way worse than that as I widen my travel area.
Here in Birmingham we not only have the normal heavy red dirt mineralization problems the south is known for but we have the extra bonus of all the minerals necessary in the ground to make iron and steel.
This town is nicknamed "Steel City" because of the history of steel and iron manufacturing we were known so well for in the past.
There are small nodules of naturally occurring iron infused into a lot of the dirt around here, run a magnet though it and you can easily pick them up and see.
Is it any wonder depth is usually worse than pitiful using most brands of detectors in this wonderful area of the country?

Recently I moved from Kansas back to Bama.
Went from rich dark beautiful soil to red mineralized iron infused garbage.
I lived here before and started my career here so I knew what I was in for, still it is hard to go from Hades to heaven and then back again.