Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Pin pointing with the F75

Posted by tmanfromtexas 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Pin pointing with the F75
July 29, 2008 11:49PM
I am still learning my machine and am confused by its pinpoint ability. I have read that the sweet spot is the circle just in front of the shaft on the coil. I can pin point items at 5 inches or less pretty much dead on that spot. When I get a target deeper than 5 inches I seem to have a hard time pin pointing the target. Here is a scenario. I get a high tone and a 68 to 73 VID pops up. I X the spot and then pin point to get a depth. It comes up at 9 inches. I dig a hole about 8 inches in diameter and start removing earth. After about 6 inches I rescan the hole and it is still there. I dig to 8 inches and its still there and the sweet spot is still on the mark. I get to 11 inches and its still there but the depth meter on pinpoint is still showing 9 or sometimes less. At this point I am usually NOT doing the happy dance. The last 5 holes I dug yesterday were like this and I gave up and covered them back up. My question is on the deeper targets does the sweet spot move from lets say center to the back or the front of the coil? Thanks for any info. TMAN...
Re: Pin pointing with the F75
July 30, 2008 01:26AM
Sounds like a heavily 'tilted' (or possibly even fully on-edge) coin in the SIDE of the hole. Try enlarging the hole.... or taking the coil and putting it at a 45Deg angle in the hole and walk completely around the hole (in the pinpoint mode).
August 01, 2008 12:56PM
i encounter exactely the same problems with my f75. it can get pretty frustrating! i even consider bying a separate pinpointer, wich i find strange for such an expensive machine...
Toms right........
August 01, 2008 04:52PM