Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Micro-Jewelry Hunting Volleyball Courts with Fisher Gold Bug 2 - Settings & Advice

Posted by FindSomeGold 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
I've been having a Private Message discussion with Tom and he made the great point that it would be good content for a forum post, to share the information with everyone -- so here it is! (edited some to focus on the core points)

Thank you VERY much, Tom!

MY FIRST MESSAGE TO TOM

I've watched the beach lecture twice now, and taken a lot of notes. I was most intrigued by the GB2 in dry sand for micro-jewelry hunting, so I've got a GB2 now (6" and 10" coils) and I am ready to give it a shot for myself. I'm curious what your ideal settings are. Would you please share that information with me? (I have no experience with this detector yet)

Also, in the video, you said ground balancing isn't necessary at all in this scenario, so does that mean it's turn on and go for this application?

TOM'S REPLY

"Iron Disc" invoked is the only critical part. All of the rest of the settings are to be max'ed out. Max Sensitivity, the threshold on the back of the unit max'ed out (fully clockwise), low mineralization............ and use the 10" coil as your primary coil. Ground Balance mid-scale is fine. Remember... stay in the dry sand (prefer volleyball courts)… clean the area out with a regular metal detector first. Your sand sifter is the most critical part of this type of hunting. If you do not have the correct micro-sifter... you will soon/instantly hate this type of hunting!

MY REPLY AFTER FIRST OUTING