Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Depth & Discrimination

Posted by Arthur-Canada 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Depth & Discrimination
November 30, 2013 06:32PM
I have been detecting seriously now for over 10 years. I recently bought an old Fisher 1265 detector that I have really enjoyed using. I usually run the disc.-1 at about 4. I know the machine goes really deep, but I'm not sure how deep the disc. goes. I have dug coins and about 7" on this setting, but I've always wondered if I lowered the disc to 3 or even 2, would I start pulling out deeper coins and would it be worth it with all the extra iron I will start to dig up as well?

Does anyone have experience with this method and can honestly say their good finds count went up as they lowered the discrimination?
Re: Depth & Discrimination
November 30, 2013 11:11PM
Hi Arthur.
It is generaly accepted Arthur that lowering disc allows better depth, but there are exceptions to this rule of thumb.

Whe you are out detecting on your Next hunt and you get good repeatable two way signals from a target,Lower your disc and or increase it and see what happens.
It should give you a very good idea how your disc helps or hinders the audable responses and depth of your machine, and even sensitivity.

This would in my opinion be the same for most other detectors.
Keith
Whiggy
December 01, 2013 01:23AM
"Exceptions to this rule of thumb".........Little or no depth lost with a CZ or Wilson Coin and Relic.....with unit in high Disc....Am sure there are more.....

1265-1266 with all the snap-crackle and pop always drove me bonkers but had a buddy for years that really got some super deep coins with a 1266 and hopefully one of the old diehard users can add some tips...as good as I am with a CZ is as bad I was with a 1266 so no help here....
Certainly made like a tank with super ergonomics and indeed the favorite of many relic hunters....