Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

dedicated relic detectors

Posted by bespride 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
dedicated relic detectors
November 07, 2015 05:42PM
Hi folks,
I'd like to start out with a thanks for all the unbiased reviews I read on this forum. I'm using a Racer for some old homestead sites and still learning it more as I go but I really like it and it's a big bump up from my F2 hah.
From doing research I've located some spots that have been fordings and encampments in mostly fielded areas, some plowed some not.
I'm a newb to relic hunting but I finally tracked down this virgin site I've been looking for a long time and I'm compelled to pound it.
I would like some opinions from relic hunters on what used detectors(old technology or new) I should keep an eye out for that would do good in NC soils.
Thanks a bunch,
Chris

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/07/2015 05:52PM by bespride.
Re: dedicated relic detectors
November 07, 2015 06:27PM
You come to the right place to ask.

There are guys on here that walk the talk.
November 07, 2015 06:47PM
I forgot to add something to compliment the racer. Maybe a PI machine like a TDI? What should I look for that would be best bang for the buck nowadays.
November 07, 2015 09:50PM
Remember, Depth is not an issue when relic hunting, Iron masking will reduce depth so refrain yourself with running too high sensitivity. Only use enough sens for good stability. Too high sens increases iron masking, This applies for ( Any Detector ). A VLF detector, 4 to 6 kHz with a tight ground balance, quick response, do not rely on a meter and you are set to go...Relic hunting to me, digging all targets where the dis setting is set to knock out iron nails...Relic hunting , you want everything in the ground.....If a person wants to be selective, its not relic hunting, it is called cherry picking...
November 07, 2015 10:01PM