Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Improperly cleaned coins vs properly cleaned coins ?

Posted by swmomark 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Improperly cleaned coins vs properly cleaned coins ?
December 09, 2016 10:15PM
I was recently watching a show where a person was trying to buy a fairly rare gold coin at a coin show. Two coins were available one was not cleaned, they wanted $70,000 for it. The other was listed as Improperly cleaned for $48,000. What I would like to know if there are PROPERLY cleaned coins, in the coin collecting world. What do they use to clean a properly cleaned coin? Mark
Re: Improperly cleaned coins vs properly cleaned coins ?
December 09, 2016 11:27PM
I am far from an expert on the subject but have learned a little. Conserving coins is kind of a hobby for me.
I enjoy going through my coins when I get home and trying to get them looking there best without doing much damage.
Cleaned coins in the collecting community usually means it has some form of chemical used on it or it has been rubbed with something
abrasive which doesn't take much.

Ultimately you want to leave the coin alone if you can. Especially if it's a key date valuable coin.

In our hobby something usually needs to be done though.
My next move is running it under water, or soaking for a bit and then pat dry.
Silver is VERY soft and any kind of rubbing even with a cloth can leave micro scratches.
My coin dealer taught me to ROLL a Q-tip over the coin. Never rub. I will do this under running water and it will lift dirt off the coin..
Rose thorns are also used to pick crud out of the details.
Pure acetone can also be used on silver without damage or dropping value but it must be pure. NO fingernail polish.

Copper is a lot easier to clean without scratching. I use the steps above EXCEPT for the Acetone, but will use a big pink eraser on them. Works real well without scratching.