Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

CZ evolution

Posted by Pips 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
CZ evolution
December 13, 2007 06:59PM
Tom – I’m sure everyone knows this but me since I’m new to sport. Can you give me a chronological breakdown of the CZ models? I read that CZ’s came out in 1990. What was the first model, where does my CZ 70 Pro fit in and what is the latest. PIPS
Re: CZ evolution
December 14, 2007 12:41PM
Hi Pips,

Original CZ was a CZ-6; released in the Fall of 1991. Proto's had been running around since Fall of 1990.... and had been on the Dave Johnson drawing board and test bench since 1986. ((( Dave never felt he truly 'completed' the project.... as his time & funds were FRL restricted ))). Then; CZ-5 was released in 1992 (slightly lower cost unit for more folks to afford).

CZ-7 = Fall, 1996
CZ-7a = Spring, 1998
CZ-7a Pro = Summer, 1998
CZ-70 Pro = Sept. 2001
CZ-3D = Feb. 2004

The CZ-6 was; analog, rainproof/splashproof/dustproof... no external speaker.
The CZ-5 was; analog, NOT rain/splash/dustproof.... had external speaker.
The 7, 7a, 7a Pro & 70 were digital and rainproof/splashproof/dustproof.
The 7, 7a had "AA" batteries under arm-cup. (7a corrected a battery drain problem).
7a Pro & 70 used a pair of 9V in control box.
CZ-3D was; analog, NOT rain/splash/dustproof.... has external speaker.