Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

I am about to hang up detecting.

Posted by 88junior 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
I am about to hang up detecting.
May 29, 2017 10:22PM
Thanks to the local law makers who have decided that detecting on city and county owned land shouldn't be allowed. And getting permission these days on private property is hard especially after all the wonderful shows on TV of detecting showing all the spectacular staged finds landowners now think they're sitting on a gold mine. I have been detecting in the same area for 25 years. And never had the first officer to tell me detecting wasn't allowed. Now in the past two weeks I've been ran off 3 different sites that I've hunted for years. I'm just disgusted and am about to hang it up. If I don't change my mind all of my detecting stuff is going to be up for sale in the next few days. Later Morgan
Re: I am about to hang up detecting.
May 29, 2017 10:55PM
88junior Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> Thanks to the local law makers who have decided th
> at detecting on city and county owned land shouldn
> 't be allowed. ....

I do not equate "getting run off of 3 different sites" as being a "new law". It's possible to get a "scram" for different reasons (which would be an entirely new/different powder keg post). Nor do I construe "scrams" as constituting new law.

But assuming for a moment that you're right . That , in fact, new laws now arose that made "all city and county land off-limits" (I doubt it) What precipitated this ? Do you really think that lawmakers at those levels just one day sat down and thought "Eewww, Icky md'rs are gross and need to have laws against them" ? Or that one of them was happen-chancing past the park one day and thought "gee, let's make a law" ? What was the origin of this (assuming it's even true).