Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

MINELAB SOVEREIGN XS-2a PRO + experts needed!

Posted by jackdaniels 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
MINELAB SOVEREIGN XS-2a PRO + experts needed!
July 11, 2017 08:49AM
So before I return a MINELAB SOVEREIGN XS-2a PRO I bought from Ebay I would like some input.

This unit didn't come with a battery so I put one together using 8 AA batteries.
It powers on but there is just way too much static.
To make matters more challenging I bought a 15inch WOT coil used.
Is the battery set up correct?

[www.facebook.com]
Re: MINELAB SOVEREIGN XS-2a PRO + experts needed!
July 11, 2017 09:42PM
Im no expert but..

Ona Sovereign when the batteries are say weak..the threshold will get louder and louder as it runs ..this being right before they die...so say you have a steady hum all day then all of a sudden the threshold will rise you know the batteries are getting weak..but should be no noise from weak batteries...also the detector will beep every few seconds like a chirp every thirty seconds...

Now you say you have a Big 15??

Is that the only coil you have??

you say static do you mean like tones all over the place or actually just a static sizzling sound??

Are you running indoors?EMI will KILL you it will sound like a caliope..wah wee waaaaahh sounds.

Have you tried auto sens to see what happens...or even turning it way clock wise..((remember it's backwards))..clockwise is lessening and counter is gaining in sens..

If you switched it out of auto and left it right there it will be really noisy..thats maximum gain...and get quite noisy especially with a huge coil like you have..

Sovereigns are bullet proof units usually...so Id say go outside put it in locked auto sens and see what happens..

Also I saw your pack....If you find its working properly order you two of these...[www.ebay.com]