Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

PIs

Posted by dewcon4414 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
PIs
March 07, 2011 09:58PM
Im looking to buy a water machine soon. I know what a disc machine gives me in and out of the water based on location. Now what does a PI offer over that except depth. Do some have more than a single tone? Now the big question.... which PI do you like best and why over a disc machine? Infinium has always been mentioned as a versatile machine.... yes i never see a used on for sale or hear much about anyone using one on any of the forums. Whats the difference between a PI and a Dual Field PI? Friends are telling me the Whites DF is a good choice.

Dew
Re: PIs
March 08, 2011 12:07AM
Most folks I talk with ( I have no experience with a P.I. machine ) mention the ease of use , and the depth gotten from the Dual Field PI .......The one shortcoming mentioned is a coil that wants to come up and float but can be weighted ..... Other machines mentioned that are suppose to have some sort of dicrimination do not have true discriminination ..... I have been tempted in teh past to give a PI machine a try just to check out the technology , but there is too much trash on the beaches that I frequent ..... If I were to give one a try , I think I would probably go with a Dual Field PI ...Jim
March 08, 2011 02:04AM
If only you could test-drive a PI. There's a good reason why.

And if you could try a White's TDI.
March 08, 2011 02:10AM
Dew,

I have used a bunch of different PI's over the years. Bottom line is, a PI will not be effected by ground mineralization or salt water as much as a VLF unit to the point where it can be very advantageous. It will go deeper, but it will also pick up a lot more junk due to not having a discrimination circuit like VLF machines.