Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Back out learning the F70: discovered a very STRANGE audio sound...

Posted by steveg 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Back out learning the F70: discovered a very STRANGE audio sound...
February 15, 2011 05:24AM
Went out for about 4 hours today hunting with the F70. Went back to the junk-filled old homesite I've been working the last couple hunts; I tried the 5" DD coil today for the first time; it was VERY quiet in terms of EMI; I was able to run 99 sens and 9 thresh, though I didn't -- too much small junk so I ran at thresh 0. 4 tones, GB mostly upper 50s. Let me tell you, I have never in my life seen so much junk, and such a VARIETY of junk. I have NO IDEA how so much metal could accumulate in someone's yard! I am still learning the detector; only found 3 zinc pennies -- have NO IDEA where the older coins are, but I'm guessing they are under the JUNK!!

Anyway, I am being BARRAGED with what is almost surely, for the most part, iron falsing. Wish there was something to do to eliminate the falses -- very "sick-sounding" and short/abrupt/staccato high tones amongst the iron that will NOT repeat in four directions (often high tones on a side-to-side sweep, and then iron-tones jumping to mid-tones sweeping 90 degrees, perpendicular). I dug every repeatable, decent tone I could find, and I am amazed at the amount of non-iron junk I dug (along with all the broken iron pieces). NO nails, running 15 disc, but lots of other types of iron. I was fooled several times with VERY solid TIDs, a rock-hard 71-72 that was a dog rabies tag; a couple of very good high 70s, with very little bounce, that turned out to be rolled up/flattened metal "ointment" tubes, and several pretty good tones (to my still-untrained ears) that turned out to be flat, rusty iron, or small, crushed up copper cans/containers of some sort. This place is wearing me out!