Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

CZ-3d, disapointed, or not?

Posted by ozzie 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
CZ-3d, disapointed, or not?
July 10, 2011 09:25PM
Hi Guys, and Gals (if there are any),
I picked up a cz-3d, (1021 S.# w/ 8" coil), a couple weeks ago that I've been eyeing up for a few years now, it has never been sold at the dealers.
First time out I hit a 1724 Britania but only @ 2" deep. Nice, but no test. From reading, they say you can't go past 4.5 sens and be stable. I don't like being limited on the sens setting. And I know the higher you turn it up the deeper it gets...already burried a dime at 8" and it barley hit it at sens set at 4.5. Hits it loud and clear all ways at sens set at 6 and above. Now here was my dilemma. Any sens setting above 4 it would false on a lot of the iron (zero disc) when the coil was not directly over it. So having to swing the coil over the falses to make sure they were not real high tones over coins was a drag. I was a little disappointed.
Put the cz up for a weekend and used the f-75, my baby.
Just today I figured I would try the cz again and back to the same place determined to run the sens up at 7 or 8 or higher, zero disc. Again, the area is loaded with iron and I'm thinking this isn't going to work because the cz is slower than the 75, how is it going to seperate. As I was concentrating on the tones and the falses and digging, I noticed for one; high tone falses were phantom like at times and/or the iron was at the side of the coil. When the coil was directly over the iron, mostly but not all the time I would get the iron low tone or a false from another piece of iron, kind of like stacking up the falses.