Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Floating sifters

Posted by dewcon4414 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Floating sifters
August 10, 2011 11:19PM
How many of you water hunters use a floating sifter? Are they practical? Is it just easier to have a scoop with wire back and shake it? I was curious why people use them and was thinking its just one more thing hanging on you. If you have the proper scoop are they worth while.

Dew
Re: Floating sifters
August 11, 2011 12:24AM
I've never used a sifter before, but, would love to try it one day. I think most of the water hunters that go pretty far out (upper chest to neck deep) use the sifters the most. Quite difficult (and tiring) to raise a heavy sand filled scoop above the water & shake it out at that distance & depth, so, they pretty much HAVE to use a sifter. And YES, make sure and get a GREAT scoop. Preferably one with a big 'bucket'. The bigger the bucket - opening in the scoop - the easier & quicker it is to retrieve the target. If the water is rough, it is VERY helpful & advantageous to get the target on the first attempt if possible smiling smiley

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/11/2011 01:09AM by njnydigger.
August 11, 2011 12:35AM
Maybe Tom & some of his NASA buddies (retired?) could design the ultimate floating sifter. NASA has plenty of experience with flotation devices
IRT (Mercury/Gemini capsules). Hey, its a thought.smiling smiley
August 11, 2011 02:22AM