Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Civil War Bullet/Rifle expert needed.

Posted by khouse 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Civil War Bullet/Rifle expert needed.
March 03, 2023 03:35PM
I thought all CW Rifles were smooth bore? Well anyway I found this .58 Minnie with what appears to be rifling marks? But the marks are dead strait....... There are 7 marks. The wider areas measure .150" and the narrow area is .100" wide. I'm going to link my video at the time of the find. Thanks for any help. [youtube.com]
Re: Civil War Bullet/Rifle expert needed.
March 03, 2023 03:49PM
I'm not an expert but that's a minie for sure. Civil War Era rifles were indeed rifled and that's one big reason the Civil War was our deadliest conflict. Equipment effectiveness surpassed the military tactics of the day. They were still use to standing in columns and firing point blank at one another. Smoothbore rifles might be accurate out to 75 yards...rifled muskets with minie balls increased that to 300+ yards. Thus by the late War they had transitioned to trench warfare.
March 03, 2023 04:38PM
Daniel Tn Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I'm not an expert but that's a minie for sure. Ci
> vil War Era rifles were indeed rifled and that's o
> ne big reason the Civil War was our deadliest conf
> lict. Equipment effectiveness surpassed the milit
> ary tactics of the day. They were still use to st
> anding in columns and firing point blank at one an
> other. Smoothbore rifles might be accurate out to
> 75 yards...rifled muskets with minie balls increas
> ed that to 300+ yards. Thus by the late War they
> had transitioned to trench warfare.
Thank you for the information. I don't remember any rifling marks on any of my other minnies. Maybe they were all dropped?
March 03, 2023 08:58PM