Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Etrac-QuickMask

Posted by agaucufe 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Etrac-QuickMask
March 27, 2012 01:01AM
If a completely open quick mask is "all metal" why the nulling?
Re: Etrac-QuickMask
March 27, 2012 08:52AM
Very good question...as I understand it agau, an open quick mask is not TRUE all metal, as there is still some tiny amount of disc...and the nulling you hear is ground mineralization being "discriminated." I may be wrong, and don't understand this whole "true all metal" vs."quasi" all metal, but I'm sure others will add to the discussion with better, more accurate info.

Steve
March 27, 2012 12:46PM
Thanks Steve,

Yeah, I'm new with the E Trac and am working through the learning curve. After a year or so with the CZ, this thing puzzles me a bit. The nulling on an open quiick mask is confusing until I'm explained the details. I can't seem to get my arms around the multi tones yet either (sounds like a Jethro Tull practice session on a bad day).

Does anyone out there run in 4 tone? I don't hear much on that. It seems to me, that while learning, it would be easier to make dig decisions based on 4 tones rather than 40. Any thoughts out there on the plusses and minuses of 4 tone versus multi for a new user moving from the CZ platform?

Thanks,

Pete
March 27, 2012 06:40PM
[metaldetectingworld.com]

The above link has an explanation as to why the E-trac would null while using an all-metal pattern. I believe the only true all-metal non-motion mode the E-trac has is the pinpoint function.
Personally, I’ve noted the E-trac nulling while air-testing small gold jewelry. When a small piece of gold jewelry is barely detectable by the E-trac (conductivity extremely low), the lower Noise Cancel numbers will null the threshold, only the high numbers will detect it.

Detecting since Feb, 2010