Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Building a Test Garden

Posted by Druid 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Building a Test Garden
June 03, 2009 07:13PM
Hi Guys,

I have been detecting for ten years and have not put in a test garden as yet so I figure I am way overdue.
Do any of you have any advice on target selection and depth, and seperation of trash to good targets for the hazard portion?
I was figuring to use clad and silver coins, a couple of rings, (gold and silver), and some common trash items, (various tabs, rusty bottlecaps, rusty nails etc. Interested in what others have selected and how they organized their plot.

Cheers,

Drew.
Re: Building a Test Garden
June 04, 2009 10:37AM
Drew,

If you have a chance, I cover this in the DVD.....and quite thoroughly. It is also covered in this forum........somewhere.
I recommend dimes and nickels. I recommend alum soda tabs and rusty nails for the trash items.
I have a pretty extensive test garden......
June 04, 2009 11:29PM
I've been adding to it and modifying it for close to 15 years bow (the same amount of time I've lived here). My advice (for what its worth) is to try to make YOUR garden as much like your hunting conditions as possible. That includes the type of targets. I have a plethora of coin type targets at various depths...... and things like CW artillery fragments, small two piece cuff buttons..... regular coat buttons... ball buttons...flat buttons.....shotgun shell casings.....minnie balls....etc etc. I also have a number of targets with co-located iron targets at varying distances. Some with iron UNDER the target too..but none with iron directly over the target (an excercise in futility!) I even have a mangled CW breast plate buried at a solid 14 inches.