Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

What's the science on this gadget?

Posted by agaucufe 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
What's the science on this gadget?
November 30, 2012 03:34AM
I picked up a few Sidekicks from Ran for my Propointers. I might add that he is great to deal with and has published the details of the build for those so inclined. I am fascinated by what happens when I play with this little gizmo. I am not an induction engineer, a hysteresis head or even a magnet maven so I can't wrap my head around how a tiny planar coil is undetectable when open, but becomes detectable when shorted! Please explain the magic. Before I mounted it to the pointer I played a bit. That is, I turned on the Propointer, held the sidekick board at the tip and it was not detected. As soon as I hit the button to short the coil, and it was then detected. How did the pointer not sense the copper in the tiny coil until I shorted it?

P.S. - FWIW - I think it's a great little gadget. Very clever.

Thanks folks,

Pete
Re: What's the science on this gadget?
November 30, 2012 09:45AM
I know the answer, I hope I can explain it...
The open loop of copper wire is not detected simply because there isn't anywhere near enough of it (less than 0.1 gram / 1 grain) and it is in wire form which is harder to detect than a solid pellet would.