Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

4.5 x 7 on the etrac

Posted by agaucufe 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
4.5 x 7 on the etrac
February 12, 2013 12:56PM
Just got the 4.5 x 7 excelerator for my etrac. Does anyone have any input on the performance I can expect? Will it offer better performance around the iron? Thanks in advance.

Pete
Re: 4.5 x 7 on the etrac
February 12, 2013 02:03PM
Pete I use it 90% of the time on my Quattro and love it in iron and it's goes fairly deep for it's size!
February 12, 2013 02:33PM
I just switched from a Sunray X-5 to this coil. The Sunray was pretty good but Kieth here did some testing and found it better. Then I did a hunt with someone using a much better machine in iron and saw that I was missing some on edge stuff with the Sunray as well. I've used it (the 4.5 x 7) several days now so I'm no expert. First hunt was a bit disappointing but that was my fault I think. It didn't seem to be running very deep at the site I was on. Next hunt though was much better and it favorably impressed me. The difference was I cranked the sens all the way up and that was where it really started to shine. Ran into a few targets even as deep as 8" or so and got them no problem. Seemed to do well in around the iron rich areas of some demo'd houses and I dug several deeper on edge coins. Count me as a happy user now.
February 12, 2013 07:00PM
It is the best coil for working iron on the explorer platfrom....

it tightens up everything and hears smaller stuff than you are used to....

it is deeper than the X5 coil also..

Great coil not sure it's made anymore though..

can get them used for about 100.00 sometime's less..I saw one go on ebay fro 40.00 bucks like new...

Keith
February 12, 2013 07:46PM
You should get excellent target separation.