Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Frustration galore!!!

Posted by Coinseeker 78 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Frustration galore!!!
November 20, 2013 08:24PM
I have been detecting for 6 to 7 years and hunt with a good friend who uses an Explorer SE Pro. He has hunted for over 20 years. I have an Explorer SE pro also. My frustration is his ability to out hunt me virtually every time we go out. I am using the same settings as he but still fail to match or come close to his finds. He is 40 years younger then me and can dig and move faster then me. But he sweeps at a almost stand still pace. I do to but to no avail. I have other detectors and it makes no difference what I use he out does me almost every time. The other day he found three silvers a gold pin and a silver pin along with a few tokens. I was using my T2 SE and found four old artifacts none of much value. We were finding all of our stuff at the same depth. I am about to give up on Metal detecting. I am not interpreting my detectors correctly or something. I just had to write this to get some of my frustration out. Thanks for reading.
Re: Frustration galore!!!
November 20, 2013 09:14PM
Have you tried comparing signals on undug targets? He finds one and lets you see if you're hearing it before he digs it? Might be very educational.

Or it might be that he's just reading the site better? Or it may be a hearing issue. I have a drop in part of my high range hearing so I really punch the signal on my Etrac so I can hear the quieter high range noises. I also found headphones that some don't like just because the highs are loud, it helps me.

Don't abandon ship yet!
November 20, 2013 09:27PM
Here's your problem right here: "I have been detecting for 6 to 7 years... he has hunted for over 20 years."