Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

The power of the F70...

Posted by diggwr27 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
The power of the F70...
March 29, 2014 02:18PM
Greetings all!
I love this place, been lurking for ahile but I have thousands of posts on other forums.
I got an F70 last December and it is amazing, found silver, gold and a mess of coins right away, but such a total newb with this thing still even after about 50 hours or so.
Tom's stuff is bookmarked and read over and over, along with all other great and technical comments and opinions plus everything else I can find using the F70/F75 for optimum depth and ID of my finds in the dirt.

I am anal about learning to get the best out of my detectors, considering all of the possible settings on the F70, and the fact that I am messing around with just about each and every signal trying to see exactly what effect the thresh, sensitivity, speed, and disc changes will do, it will probably be awhile before I settle down with the right settings for me for every situation, set the thing and just go hunt, but I can't tell you how much fun doing it this way is for me.
Learning a new detector an trying to get the absolute best out of it is just about as fun for me as digging the great finds.

I have a log I started on another forum the day I first hunted with this thing, I like to do that to to watch my progression and just to help anyone else out that might read it so they might be able to use something I have discovered without putting in the time and effort I have to do it.
Like I said, experimentation is a labor of love for me, but I know others just want to get to the good stuff and go.

I had a short hunt the other day and even though most everyone here probably knows way more than me about the technical stuff, I will post this kinda long story about depth and the F70.