Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Update T2 Classic vs R2

Posted by Jackpine 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Update T2 Classic vs R2
May 06, 2016 10:46AM
Had time to get out for a bit with the T2 and Racer 2. Went to the heavily worked out site I have been hunting for 10 years will all manner of detectors. Managed to find 2 non-ferrous targets with the T2 and compared the Racer before digging. First target located with the T2 gave a full walk around signal best sweeps read 52 and on turning 65 (mostly a foil reading but occasional nickel). Racer 2 best sweeps 35-44 and upper teens on the turn. Target was a 1" square brass hinge like you would see on a small box at 3". Last target located with the T2 was a full walk around response reading in the low to mid 50's from all angles. Unfortunately the Racer 2 would never have found this target. It read mostly in the iron zone with disc at 9 and fleeting upper teens to low 20's from a perfect sweep angle. This confirmed a suspicion I have had in the back of my head with the racers ability on small odd shaped low conductors in iron. While from a perfect angle of approach it may pick them up, too many times it does not give a diggable response on the pass.

Target was a 1 1/2" long piece of wire of about 12 US Ga. Not copper but some type of alloy that is hard and strong. It was only down an inch. When turning the plug over it was a solid iron read and had to break it into pieces to get a nonferrous reading . Before I put the detectors away I did a test by sticking the wire vertically in the ground. As I suspected the T2 read it with no problem only dropping the ID a couple of points. The racer 2 read 4 - 5, solidly in the iron zone. To me this is a fail for a jack of all trades detector. Sorry to put it bluntly but this confirmed an aspect of the Racer 2's performance that I had been holding doubts about.