Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

I like the Deus handle!!!! (revised) But I dislike the TID

Posted by Kevin B 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
I like the Deus handle!!!! (revised) But I dislike the TID
April 18, 2012 01:56PM
It's just a small thing, and has nothing to do with actual performance, I don't reckon, but man I'm glad that it doesn't have the good ol foam wrap handle that gets dirty quickly unless you wrap it with elecrical tape.
I have been hunting ALOT with the Deus. The digitial ID is just almost useless TO ME!!! I know that I'm a newbie. I need not be reminded. But I am use to swing the Teknetics G2 which gave reliable TID numbers. I mean.....YOU KNEW when you had a bullet or a CW button. Same with the F75SE. And the AT Pro. The other day, when I found that Martingale, I dug a piece of can slaw about 7 or 8 inches from the Matingale, BEFORE I dug the Martingale. The can slaw, or old foil wad, or whatever it was ID'd at 78!!!! I thought it was something good at first. After removing the can slaw, I swung across the hole and saw that everything was gone. Then I broaden my swing and pick up a signal in the 40's. I thought: may as well get rid of this trash too. I dug it up and it was the Martingale Eagle Heart. There was a nail or two in the hole too that I removed using my Garrett pinpointer. At that time I didn't realize that I had dug a good target. I was just cleaning out bad signals.
I went back today and dug alot!!! I filled up my nail apron twice! All junk. A few keepers that I don't know what are. Except for a couple of small leather strap buckles. But a whole lot of stuff ID's at 98 until I pull it out of the ground. Then, when I swing the coil across the cleaned target, it is in the 50's. So, I am learning to use this detector without relying on it's (in my opinion) poor ability at ID-ing targets in and among old nails.