Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Etrac and choice of coils

Posted by DonM 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Etrac and choice of coils
June 16, 2012 11:24AM
I posted this question on another site but part of it was censored (I guess because a certain brand of coil is not offered for sale by the sponsors) so I will try here:

I just picked up a gently used Etrac that came with 2 coils (well actually 4, the stock plus a 5"X10" DD NEL) and I am wondering which one is best for general coin shooting (at least to start out with) - if you had to choose one of these 2 - which one would it be:

I realize that the bigger the coil - the more depth is attained but since I am just starting out and I have a lot to learn - which of these 2 would give the most accurate tone and id numbers in a park type setting.

1 10"X12"DD SEF COIL

1 12"X13"DD NEL TORNADO COIL

I plan to give this Etrac a good test run before deciding which detector to keep (I also have a V3i) although I suspect that once I learn how to use the Etrac properly, the Etrac will end up being the keeper.
Re: Etrac and choice of coils
June 16, 2012 03:02PM
I will leave the answer to those more experienced then myself but I think it would be helpful to mention where you hunt and the type of ground and amount of trash. I assume your goal is old silver not clad - is that correct.

Bryanna
June 16, 2012 04:07PM
The stock coil for any new unit is basically tuned for the unit and for general hunting I would recommend anyone getting a new or even used unit while learning to use it use the stock coil...
That being said when you get the hang of the unit you can either go small or large depending on your hunting needs...

Small usually works well in trashy areas and places where big coils will not... edge of sidewalks, iron fences..next to iron poles in tot lost...well you get the idea..