Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

CZ 5 neophyte

Posted by carvlin7 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
CZ 5 neophyte
October 08, 2013 06:45PM
Greetings, All - first post though I've been reading for over a year. Just bought a CZ 5 that was never used/assembled in original packaging - a dealer gone out of business S/N 1123.... I have learned a great deal here and plan to learn the machine well before considering any upgrade or modification - my question: Is there a 'warm up' curve to the machine? Both daily and overtime should I expect it to 'settle in'? Lots of one way signals and have only spent a 6 or 8 hours with it so far. I have been using an MXT for 2 years and a Bandido Umax for a year - the Tesoro is so definitive when over a target whereas the CZ leaves me guessing a bit. Sens at 5ish, volume the same, Disc at 0 or 1 and fairly well ground balanced. Any advice is greatly appreciated -
Re: CZ 5 neophyte
October 08, 2013 07:37PM
Personally when I use a CZ of any type - I don't use any disc at all - I set it to 0 and listen for the deep targets

deep iron (especially rusty nails will be the hard one) - even after 18 yrs of using a cz of some type I still get fooled once in a while

a lot of times they're dead give aways by listening for a crackle in the sound while pin pointing and/or if the target pin points off center from where you hit the target while swinging over it - another way is if it's not a smooth softer tone with a round sound but abruptly cuts off as you swing over it - that's usually a sign of iron too.

Sens can be pushed as high as your dirt & the emi will allow - I can usually run wide open in my dirt and emi doesn't have much effect on a cz unless directly under/close to the big/tall power feed towers