Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Have any of you ever dug these type buttons?

Posted by Keith Southern 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Have any of you ever dug these type buttons?
May 12, 2014 03:39AM
By the style their Pre Rev-War for sure...

Heres what I've been told..And Im not an expert on these real ealry buttons....but before the British had numbered buttons they used tree's as rank for the officer's...I believe they started in the 1750s with numbered buttons....and Ive been told these I've dug are about 1730-1740..Dogwood..

I do know I dug them out of an early house site....along with a cut Piece of silver and a real early set of Pewter cufllinks..and a ton of other early brass...

but I still dont know...anyone an expert on early Button's...

It looks like it was poured in the field in a gang mold...I have 4 just like it...Could just be flower buttons for the early settler's to make on their own here in the Colonies? dont Know...

Keith
Re: Have any of you ever dug these type buttons?
May 12, 2014 03:48PM
I'm not gonna find buttons like that in my area.

Is that shank broken Keith?

Aaron
May 12, 2014 06:36PM
Yes Aaron all the ones I have the shank is corroded off more or less..

these butons are made of pewter and cast as one piece..so the shank is fragile...

In certain dirts these buttons would not have survived..

Heres a side shot

Dont dimiss your area Aaron as not being Early enough to hold 18th century artifacts or even earlier...

My area was not DEVELOPED till 1830 but that does not mean nothing..

Keith
May 12, 2014 07:13PM
Hey Keith,

In metro Detroit area, yes there are areas, however very few. The area is really built up. There have been a few areas that have produced relics from the 1812 War.

I do have a area that Ive hunting that has 200yrs of history and found lots of relics from early to mid 1800s but that's it!