Welcome! » Log In » Create A New Profile

Preachin' on Sunday mornin'

Posted by BuckeyeBrad 
This forum is currently read only. You can not log in or make any changes. This is a temporary situation.
Preachin' on Sunday mornin'
March 06, 2011 02:30PM
I've been consistantly following multiple detecting forums since I got into this hobby and the more I learn from a self taught aspect, and that is a never ending process that I pursue vigorously and ongoingly, the more I'm amazed at how much mis-information there is out there daily and how much of it is swallowed up as fact. I'm not even going to go into specific detectors or if the motives of the mis-information are loyalty based or just not knowing any better. I'll choose to give the benefit of the doubt. I also realize that many hobbyists just don't have the interest or perhaps the means to have many detectors, do extensive testing with any and all of them head to head and actually see for themselves. Given that, I understand how one would be more apt to accept whatever they hear as "the truth". There is no doubt that no one has the time to document countless notes, testimonies, or make videos of how a detector responds to the nearly infinite real world combinations of co-located targets and their proximities to each other. I get it. First off, it would be impossible to simulate literally everything you could encounter and would take a lifetime to hopefully run up against most of them in a real world situation. So what is a guy to do? For starters, I'd suggest to invest some time and just take whatever detector(s) one has at their disposal, go outside or to the garage or whatever and just set up random "good/bad" target combinations. Yep, this is only a two dimensional approach to a three dimensional problem, but first things first. Let the sky be the limit on your own creativity because the more you try, the more you'll learn. Learn what the detector tells you as you size the combination, Find the overall center if